The US Department of Energy announced their selection of 20 collegiate teams to participate in the 2015 Solar Decathlon at UC Irvine. ?Twenty US teams and four international teams will compete to build “solar-powered, highly energy-efficient houses that combine affordability, innovation, and design excellence.” ?Teams have two years to complete their projects. ?Among the teams are two Western New York schools: SUNY Buffalo, which has made headlines with growth in medicine and environmental expansions; and Alfred State/Alfred University. ?

As Buffalonians, we are proud to say: GO UB!52fd1386e8e44e3cd00000dc_20-teams-to-compete-in-2015-u-s-solar-decathlon-_1-530x353

2015 Solar Decathlon Teams:

  • California Polytechnic State University
  • California State University, Sacramento
  • Clemson University
  • Crowder College and Drury University
  • Lansing Community College and Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris State University
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • New York City College of Technology
  • Oregon Institute of Technology and Portland State University
  • Stanford University
  • State University of New York at Alfred College of Technology and Alfred University
  • Stevens Institute of Technology
  • University of Florida, National University of Singapore, and Santa Fe College
  • The University of Texas at Austin and Technische Universitaet Muenchen
  • University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
  • University of California, Davis
  • University of California, Irvine; Saddleback College; Chapman University; and Irvine Valley College
  • Vanderbilt University and Middle Tennessee State University
  • West Virginia University and University of Roma Tor Vergata
  • Western New England University, Universidad Tecnol?gica de Panam?, and Universidad Tecnol?gica Centroamericana
  • Yale University